PG&E has increased rates for all customers to support their poles and wires (T&D). This affects Pioneer and non-Pioneer customers equally – everyone’s rates will go up the exact same dollar amount.
Don’t be misled. We guarantee that Pioneer’s savings over PG&E have not changed. Calculate your savings in El Dorado and Placer County.

Pioneer Board Members

Meet Your Pioneer Board

Pioneer was formed in 2017, joining the other California CCAs in providing energy to more than 11 million customers across the state. We started providing electric services in 2018 to the communities of Auburn, Colfax, Lincoln, Rocklin, Loomis and most of unincorporated Placer County, achieving status as an independent entity in 2021 with the payoff of debts and the hiring of necessary operational staff. In 2022 we started providing the same stable and reliable electric service to most of unincorporated El Dorado County and the City of Placerville. We are powered by the communities we serve — not corporate shareholders.

Our Governing Board consists of nine locally elected representatives from the El Dorado County and Placer County Boards of Supervisors, and the local government councils of Auburn, Colfax, Lincoln, Loomis, Placerville and Rocklin. Pioneer is a local government, not-for-profit, joint powers authority.

Your comments, concerns and inquiries are important to Pioneer Community Energy.

Solar Customers Receive Annual True-Up

Pioneer issued checks to solar customers with a cumulative net surplus of energy (known as Net Surplus Generators) during May for the March/April billing period if their credit balance (calculated at the Net Surplus Compensation Rate) for the past 12 months exceeded $25.00. Credit balances of less than $25.00 were rolled forward and applied to the next bill.

A few of our clients have contacted us to confirm the check’s authenticity. Rest assured, it is indeed real! If you receive a Blue or Orange check from with a reference to Pioneer, it is safe to deposit. 

We take pride in helping our solar customers save; Pioneer pays $.005 (1/2 cent) per kWh more than PG&E for any over-production sold back to the grid (Net Surplus Compensation Rate or NSC).